18th Century Georgian Cuban mahogany estate cabinet secretaire, the stepped moulded cornice surmounted with broken swan neck pediment with centred acanthus crest flanked with carved scroll and sunflower motifs raised over two bevel mirrored doors opening to reveal fitted drawer section supported by two short cockbeaded drawers with brass pulls and escutcheons flanked with carved scroll detail above three long cockbeaded drawers with brass pulls and escutcheons. The extendable drawer front opening to reveal writing desk which slides back to reveal fitted compartments terminating on ogee bracket feet.
From the collection of Colonel and Maeb Daly Russborough House, Co. Wicklow
Russborough House was built in 1741 by Joseph Leeson, 1st Earl of Milltown. The architect was Richard Cassels, who ranks with Edward Lovett Pears as one of the greatest architects working in Ireland in the 18th Century. Cassels introduced a distinctive type of Palladianism to Ireland, both externally and internally. Russborough House was built between 1741-1745. The silver granite front façade is the longest in Ireland, 700 feet end to end. However, only seven bays are given to the central block which is joined to wings by colonnades. In the front of the colonnades there are statues which are almost certainly original to the house, having been brought back from Italy by Joseph Leeson. The main entrance is one of Cassels’ trademark porticoes, raised on piano nobile. Russborough House has a highly ornamented interior, the entrance hall houses a doric frieze, geometrically designed ceiling and a stunning staircase. The Rococo plasterwork and the ceilings of the interior are by master stuccoists Paul and Philip Lanfranchini. The doors, dados, and main staircase are hand-carved from Cuban and San Domingo mahogany. The chimney-pieces are all original to the house. Italian marble and Kilkenny polished limestone grace several rooms with Thomas Carter of London chimney-pieces enhancing the tapestry room, music room and saloon.
Sir Alfred and Lady Beit bought Russborough in 1952, chiefly to house their art collection. The major paintings belonging to the Beit Collection by renowned artists Vermeer, Metsu and Goya are on view in the National Gallery of Ireland. In 1976, Sir Alfred and Lady Beit generously gifted the house and the renowned art collection to Ireland by establishing the Alfred Beit Foundation. In 1978 Russborough House opened its doors to the public.
Price On Request